Skip to product information
1 of 5

Yes – The Halcyon Years 1971–1972 (3-CD Bundle Deal)

Yes – The Halcyon Years 1971–1972 (3-CD Bundle Deal)

Regular price £16.99 GBP
Regular price £23.97 GBP Sale price £16.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Save over 25% when you buy these landmark albums together with this limited time CD bundle offer!*

This incredible value bundle is comprised of Yes' most critically acclaimed albums from their creative heyday in the early '70s. Comprising The Yes Album, Fragile and Close to the Edge this is a great chance to snap up some legendary albums for less!

Yes – The Yes Album

The Yes Album was the first by the band not to feature any cover versions of songs. The band spent mid-1970 writing and rehearsing new material at a farmhouse at Romansleigh, Devon, and the new songs were recorded at Advision Studios in London in the autumn. While the album retained close harmony singing, Kaye's Hammond organ, and Chris Squire's melodic bass, as heard on earlier releases, the new material also covered further styles including jazz piano, funk, and acoustic music. All of the band members contributed ideas, and tracks were extended in length to allow music to develop. Howe contributed a variety of guitar styles, including a Portuguese guitar, and recorded the solo acoustic guitar piece Clap, live at the Lyceum Theatre, London.

The album was a critical success and a major commercial breakthrough for Yes, who had been at risk of being dropped by Atlantic due to the commercial failures of their first two albums. It reached No. 4 in the United Kingdom and No. 40 in the United States, and was later certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America for surpassing one million copies.

Track Listing

  1. Yours Is No Disgrace
  2. The Clap
  3. Starship Trooper (a. Life Seeker; b. Disillusion; c. Wurm)
  4. I've Seen All Good People (a. Your Move; b. All Good People)
  5. A Venture
  6. Perpetual Change


Yes – Fragile

Fragile was Yes' first album to feature keyboardist Rick Wakeman, who replaced founding member Tony Kaye after the group had finished touring their breakthrough record, The Yes Album. The band entered rehearsals in London in August 1971, but Kaye's reluctance to play electronic keyboards led to his departure from the group. He was quickly replaced by Wakeman, whose experience with the electric piano, organ, Mellotron, and Minimoog synthesiser expanded the band's sound. 

Fragile received a positive reception upon its release, and was a commercial success, reaching No. 4 on the US Billboard Top LPs chart and No. 7 on the UK Albums Chart. An edited version of Roundabout was released as a single in the US in January 1972, which reached No. 13. Fragile has since been certified double platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America for selling over two million copies in the US.

Track Listing

  1. Roundabout
  2. Cans and Brahms
  3. We Have Heaven
  4. South Side of the Sky
  5. Fiver Per Cent For Nothing
  6. Long Distance Runaround
  7. The Fish (Schindleria Prematurus)
  8. Mood for a Day
  9. Heart of the Sunrise
  10. America
  11. Roundabout (Early Rough Mix)


Yes – Close to the Edge

Close to the Edge was Yes' last album of the 1970s to feature original drummer Bill Bruford before he left to join King Crimson. After touring their previous album, Fragile, the group assembled at Advision Studios in London to record a follow-up, ideas for which had been put down since February 1972. Close to the Edge marked a development in the band's songwriting, with Jon Anderson and Steve Howe writing the 18-minute title track, the band's longest song at the time.

Close to the Edge Yes' greatest commercial success at the time of release. It peaked at No. 4 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 3 on the Billboard 200 in the United States, the highest position Yes has reached on the latter chart. Yes supported the album with their 1972–1973 world tour which comprised over 90 dates and marked the debut of drummer Alan White. Close to the Edge was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America in 1998 for selling one million copies.

Track Listing

  1. Close to the Edge: The Solid Time of Change/Total Mass Retain/I Get Up I Get Down/Seasons of Man 
  2. And You and I 
  3. Siberian Khatru


* Please note:

– Discount does not apply if titles are bought individually.

– This time limited offer is subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time.

– This special bundle offer is not available retrospectively.

View full details