Skip to product information
1 of 2

Yes – Fly from Here: Return Trip (2020 Reissue Vinyl Picture Disc)

Yes – Fly from Here: Return Trip (2020 Reissue Vinyl Picture Disc)

Regular price £29.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £29.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This is the limited edition 2020 reissue of Yes' 2018 release Fly from Here: Return Trip. Fly From Here – Return Trip contains a previously unreleased song Don’t Take No for an Answer recorded in 2011, with Steve Howe on lead vocals. Additionally, the full-length version of Hour of Need is included, which had previously only been included as a Japanese bonus track. This limited edition 180g picture disc is a must for all discerning Yes fans!

2011's Fly from Here featured the band members who appeared on the Yes Drama album in 1980: Trevor Horn, Chris Squire, Steve Howe, Alan White and Geoff Downes. 

In 2016, the band pitched an idea to Horn of having him re-record the lead vocals for Fly from Here. White, who suggested the idea, reminded Horn that if he did, it would mark the second album recorded with the same line-up that had recorded Drama in 1980. Horn cited this as the factor that made his decision and said, 'So I thought: why not? Because I have to live with the album for the rest of my life, so I might as well re-do it.'

Work began in May 2016 after Horn performed on stage with Yes in London during their 2016 European tour, the band travelling to the studio the following day to oversee the production. Horn remixed the album and rearranged some sections in the process, reasoning that he and Downes had co-written much of the material and thus 'Didn't have to answer to anybody!' Horn found that his vocals were 'harder' and cut through the songs more than David's had done, which affected his mixing choices. He cited Hour of Need as a particular track that was improved in comparison to the original. Downes and Howe also recorded new keyboard and guitar overdubs, respectively.

The new version, Fly from Here – Return Trip, was released on 25 March 2018 through PledgeMusic, and at the two-day fan convention in London during the band's fiftieth anniversary tour. The album includes the full version of Hour of Need, the previously unreleased track Don't Take No for an Answer, written and sung by Howe and recorded by the group during the album's sessions and additional liner notes by Horn. Downes felt the new version sounded refreshing and that Horn's remixes added 'a whole new dimension to the original recordings.'


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Fly from Here - Overture
  2. Fly from Here Pt. 1 We Can Fly
  3. Fly from Here Pt. 2 - Sad Night at the Airfield
  4. Fly from Here Pt. 3 - Madman at the Screens
  5. Fly from Here Pt. 4 - Bumpy Ride
  6. Fly from Here Pt. 5 - We Can Fly (Reprise)
  7. The Man You Always Wanted Me to Be

Side Two

  1. Life On a Film Set
  2. Hour of Need
  3. Solitaire
  4. Don't Take No for an Answer
  5. Into the Storm


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album Picture Disc

Label: Yes Records

Catalogue No: YES001PD

Barcode: 5060105491030

Release Date: 7 Aug 2020

View full details