Skip to product information
1 of 4

The Who – Quadrophenia (2011 Reissue Double-LP on 180g Vinyl)

The Who – Quadrophenia (2011 Reissue Double-LP on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £34.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £34.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Released as a double album on 26 October 1973, Quadrophenia is the sixth studio album by The Who. It is the group’s second rock opera. Set in London and Brighton in 1965, the story follows a young mod named Jimmy and his search for self-worth and importance. Quadrophenia is the only Who album entirely composed by Pete Townshend.

The group started work on the album in 1972, trying to follow up Tommy and Who’s Next, both of which had achieved substantial critical and commercial success. Recording was delayed while bassist John Entwistle and singer Roger Daltrey recorded solo albums and drummer Keith Moon worked on films. Because a new studio was not finished in time, the group had to use Ronnie Lane’s Mobile Studio. The album makes significant use of Townshend’s multi-track synthesizers and sound effects, as well as Entwistle’s layered horn parts, in addition to the group’s typical playing styles, especially from Moon. Relationships between the group and manager Kit Lambert broke down irretrievably during recording and Lambert had left the band’s service by the time the album was released.

Quadrophenia was released to a positive reception in both the UK and the US, but the resulting tour was marred with problems with backing tapes replacing the additional instruments on the album, and the stage piece was retired in early 1974. It was revived in 1996 with a larger ensemble, and a further tour took place in 2012. The album made a positive impact on the mod revival movement of the late 1970s, and the resulting 1979 film adaptation was successful.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. I Am the Sea
  2. The Real Me
  3. Quadrophenia
  4. Cut My Hair
  5. The Punk and the Godfather

Side Two

  1. I’m One
  2. The Dirty Jobs
  3. Helpless Dancer
  4. Is It in My Head?
  5. I’ve Had Enough

Side Three

  1. 5:15
  2. Sea and Sand
  3. Drowned
  4. Bell Boy

Side Four

  1. Doctor Jimmy
  2. The Rock
  3. Love, Reign o’er Me


Producer: The Who, Jon Astley

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

No of Discs: 2

Label: Commercial Marketing

Catalogue No: 2780504

Barcode: 0602527805047

Release Date: 8 Nov 2011

View full details