Skip to product information
1 of 2

Thin Lizzy – Thunder and Lightning (CD)

Thin Lizzy – Thunder and Lightning (CD)

Regular price £7.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £7.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Thin Lizzy released what became their final studio LP, Thunder and Lightning, on 4 March 1983. Two years earlier, band leader Phil Lynott brought in guitarist John Sykes to replace Snowy White and join the core line-up of Lynott, guitarist Scott Gorham and the ever-loyal Brian Downey on drums. Sykes' style and approach was somewhat heavier than his predecessor's, and producer Chris Tsangarides pushed Thin Lizzy toward a more contemporary sound. The combination resulted in a more metal style, and a return to the band's hard rock roots.

This is the twelfth and final studio album by Irish hard rock band Thin Lizzy, released in 1983. Guitarist John Sykes was hired to replace Snowy White after 1981's Renegade, and Sykes helped to provide a heavier sound and guitar tone than Thin Lizzy had used on previous albums. However, the bulk of the songwriting (except for Cold Sweat) was completed before he joined the band. Keyboard player Darren Wharton also offered a stronger musical influence to Thin Lizzy's final studio album, co-writing many of the tracks including Some Day She Is Going to Hit Back, and the final single The Sun Goes Down. A farewell tour followed the album's release, followed by the live album Life.


Track Listing

  1. Thunder and Lightning
  2. This Is the One
  3. The Sun Goes Down
  4. The Holy War
  5. Cold Sweat
  6. Someday She Is Going to Hit Back
  7. Baby, Please Don't Go
  8. Bad Habits
  9. Heart Attack
View full details