Skip to product information
1 of 3

Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet (2003 DSD Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet (2003 DSD Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £29.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £29.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Beggars Banquet is the seventh British and ninth American studio album by the Rolling Stones, released on 6 December 1968. It was the first Rolling Stones album produced by Jimmy Miller, whose production work formed a key aspect of the group’s sound throughout the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Brian Jones, the band’s founder and early leader, had become increasingly unreliable in the studio due to his drug use, and it was the last Rolling Stones album to be released during his lifetime, though he also contributed to two songs on their next album Let It Bleed, which was released after his death. Nearly all rhythm and lead guitar parts were recorded by Keith Richards, the Rolling Stones’ other guitarist and the primary songwriting partner of their lead singer Mick Jagger; together the two wrote all but one of the tracks on the album. Rounding out the instrumentation were bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts, though all members contributed on a variety of instruments. As with most albums of the period, frequent collaborator Nicky Hopkins played piano on many of the tracks.

Beggars Banquet marked a change in direction for the band following the psychedelic pop of their previous two albums, Between the Buttons and Their Satanic Majesties Request. Styles such as roots rock and a return to the blues rock sound that had marked early Stones recordings dominate the record, and the album is among the most instrumentally experimental of the band’s career, as they use Latin beats and instruments like the claves alongside South Asian sounds from the tanpura, tabla and shehnai, and African music-influenced conga rhythms.

Beggars Banquet received a highly favourable response from music critics, who deemed it a return to the band’s best sound. While the album lacked a ‘hit single’ at the time of its release, songs such as Sympathy for the Devil and Street Fighting Man became rock radio staples for decades to come. One of their most acclaimed albums, the album has appeared on many lists of the greatest albums of all time.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Sympathy for the Devil
  2. No Expectations
  3. Dear Doctor
  4. Parachute Woman
  5. Jigsaw Puzzle

Side Two

  1. Street Fighting Man
  2. Prodigal Son
  3. Stray Cat Blues
  4. Factory Girl
  5. Salt of the Earth

Producer: Jimmy Miller

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: ABCKO

Catalogue No: 7195391

Barcode: 0018771953913

Release Date: 28 May 2003

View full details