Skip to product information
1 of 3

The Monochrome Set – Volume, Contrast, Brilliance… Unreleased & Rare Vol. 2 (2016 Vinyl Album)

The Monochrome Set – Volume, Contrast, Brilliance… Unreleased & Rare Vol. 2 (2016 Vinyl Album)

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


At the end of the 70s, The Monochrome Set were part of the first wave of 'post punk' bands. Right from the beginning, the band earned a solid reputation as purveyors of fine pop, gaining praise from 80s contemporaries such as Morrissey and Edwyn Collins. Importantly, in later years, this praise has continued with artists such as Franz Ferdinand, The Divine Comedy and Graham Coxon, all citing the band as a key influence on their own work. The Monochrome Set sound has often been described as 'timeless', and that alone explains why, over the years, the band has continued gaining admirers. 33 years after the release of the classic Volume, Contrast, Brilliance… Sessions & Singles Vol. 1 comes this wonderful collection of unreleased and rare demos. Spanning 1978 to 1991, these range from DIY to high quality studio recordings – many are real gems, but some also failed to be released or properly recorded for a variety of reasons (which are explained in the liner notes) – bad timing, odd decisions, even forgetfulness! The range of styles displayed are typical of this iconic and highly influential band – slices of their sound can be heard throughout the indie and mainstream genres of many countries.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Something About You
  2. I Wanna Be Your Man
  3. Cilla Black
  4. The Greatest Performance Artist in the World
  5. Reach for Your Gun
  6. Fly Me to the Moon
  7. Love
  8. Whoops! What a Palaver

Side Two

  1. I Want Your Skin
  2. Stories from the Book of Love
  3. White Lightning
  4. Wisteria
  5. Bella Morte
  6. Swing
  7. Black Are the Flowers
  8. Jack


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Tapete

Catalogue No: TR332LP

Barcode: 4015698004427

Release Date: 25 Mar 2016

View full details