Skip to product information
1 of 2

Supertramp – Breakfast in America (2013 Reissue Vinyl Picture Disc)

Supertramp – Breakfast in America (2013 Reissue Vinyl Picture Disc)

Regular price £27.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Released on 29 March 1979, Breakfast in America is the sixth studio album by Supertramp. It was recorded in 1978 at The Village Recorder in Los Angeles. Colin Larkin, writing in the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (2006), said that the ‘faultless’ album ‘elevated’ Supertramp to ‘rock’s first division’.

Breakfast in America topped the US Billboard 200 for six weeks and became Supertramp’s biggest selling album, while producing four hit singles: The Logical Song, Goodbye Stranger, Take the Long Way Home and the title track. Breakfast in America would become Supertramp’s most popular album. By the 1990s, it had sold in excess of 18 million copies worldwide.

In a review for Rolling Stone magazine, music critic Stephen Holden called Breakfast in America ‘a textbook-perfect album of post-Beatles, keyboard-centered English art rock that strikes the shrewdest possible balance between quasi-symphonic classicism and rock & roll the songs here are extraordinarily melodic and concisely structured, reflecting these musicians’ saturation in American pop since their move to Los Angeles in 1977.’ In a retrospective review for AllMusic, Stephen Thomas Erlewine praised the album’s ‘tightly written, catchy, well-constructed pop songs’ and described it as the band’s ‘high-water mark’.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Gone Hollywood
  2. The Logical Song
  3. Goodbye Stranger
  4. Breakfast in America
  5. Oh Darling

Side Two

  1. Take the Long Way Home
  2. Lord Is It Mine
  3. Just Another Nervous Wreck
  4. Casual Conversations
  5. Child of Vision

Producer: Supertramp, Peter Henderson

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album Picture Disc

Label: Polydor

Catalogue No: 5345458

Barcode: 0600753454589

Release Date: 21 Oct 2013

View full details