Skip to product information
1 of 3

Randy Newman – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Randy Newman – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Regular price £15.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £15.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This product is included in our Deluxe 5-CD Box Set Offer – GET ANY TWO FOR 24.99! Check out the offer HERE

This incredible value CD box set comprises five original albums housed in individual cardboard sleeves. This set includes the following five albums: Randy Newman (1968), 12 Songs (1970), Sail Away (1972), Good Old Boys (1974) and Little Criminals (1977).

An anomaly among early-'70s singer/songwriters, Randy Newman may have been slightly influenced by Bob Dylan, but his music owed more to New Orleans R&B and traditional pop than folk. Newman developed an idiosyncratic style that alternated between sweeping, cinematic pop and rolling R&B, which were tied together by his intelligently biting sense of humour. Where his peers concentrated on confessional songwriting, Newman drew characters, creating a world filled with misfits, outcasts, charlatans, and con men. Though he occasionally showed sympathy for his characters, he became well known for his acidic sense of satire, highlighted by his fluke 1978 hit Short People and his parody of '80s yuppies, I Love L.A. Newman's records consistently received strongly positive reviews, especially 1972's Sail Away and 1974's Good Old Boys, and he enjoyed a commercial breakthrough with 1977's Little Criminals, but he became a wealthy man by composing scores for films like Ragtime and The Natural.


Track Listing

Disc 1 – Randy Newman

  1. Love Story (You and Me)
  2. Bet No One Ever Hurt This Bad
  3. Living Without You
  4. So Long Dad
  5. I Think He's Hiding
  6. Linda
  7. Laughing Boy
  8. Cowboy
  9. Beehive State
  10. I Think It's Going to Rain Today
  11. Davy the Fat Boy

Disc 2 – 12 Songs

  1. Have You Seen My Baby?
  2. Let's Burn Down the Cornfield
  3. Mama Told Me Not to Come
  4. Suzanne
  5. Lover's Prayer
  6. Lucinda
  7. Underneath the Harlem Moon
  8. Yellow Man
  9. Old Kentucky Home
  10. Rosemary
  11. If You Need Oil
  12. Uncle Bob's Midnight Blues

Disc 3 – Sail Away

  1. Sail Away
  2. Lonely at the Top
  3. He Gives Us All His Love
  4. Last Night I Had a Dream
  5. Simon Smith and the Amazing Dancing Bear
  6. Old Man
  7. Political Science
  8. Burn On
  9. Memo to My Son
  10. Dayton, Ohio 1903
  11. You Can Leave Your Hat On
  12. God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)

Disc 4 – Good Old Boys

  1. Rednecks
  2. Birmingham
  3. Marie
  4. Mr. President (Have Pity On the Working Man)
  5. Guilty
  6. Louisiana 1927
  7. Every Man a King
  8. Kingfish
  9. Naked Man
  10. A Wedding in Cherokee County
  11. Back On My Feet Again
  12. Rollin'

Disc 5 – Little Criminals

  1. Short People
  2. You Can't Fool the Fat Man
  3. Little Criminals
  4. Texas Girl's Lament at the Funeral of Her Father
  5. Jolly Coppers On Parade
  6. In Germany Before the War
  7. Sigmund Freud's Impersonation of Albert Einstein in America
  8. Baltimore
  9. I'll Be Home
  10. Rider in the Rain
  11. Kathleen (Catholicism Made Easier)
  12. Old Man On the Farm


Label: Warner Bros. Records
Series: Original Album Series
Format: CD x 5, Album, Reissue Box Set, Compilation
Country: Europe
Released: 2011
Genre: Rock, Pop

View full details