Skip to product information
1 of 3

Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £27.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is the debut album by Pink Floyd, and the only album made under founding member Syd Barrett’s leadership. It was released on 5 August 1967. The studio album borrows its name from the title of chapter seven of Kenneth Grahame’s 1908 novel The Wind in the Willows, which refers to the nature god Pan, who plays his pan pipes at dawn. The album was recorded at EMI Studios in London’s Abbey Road from February to May 1967. The band consisted of Barrett (lead vocals, lead guitar), Nick Mason (drums), Roger Waters (bass, vocals), and Richard Wright (keyboards, vocals). Barrett was the band’s primary songwriter, though two tracks on the album are credited to the band collectively and one track was written by Waters. The album was produced by Norman Smith, who would go on to produce two more albums for Pink Floyd.

Syd Barrett proved himself a true genius, blending elements of pop and psychedelia on early singles such as See Emily Play with mysterious, almost light-hearted lyrics. The Piper at the Gates of Dawn still stands as one of the best psychedelic rock albums ever, driven by Barrett's oddball narratives and the band's skill with both long jams and perfect pop nuggets.

This album is remastered from the original analogue tapes by James Guthrie, Pink Floyd's sound engineer since 1978.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Astronomy Dominé
  2. Lucifer Sam
  3. Matilda Mother
  4. Flaming
  5. Pow R. Toc H.
  6. Take Up Thy Stethoscope and Walk

Side Two

  1. Interstellar Overdrive
  2. The Gnome
  3. Chapter 24
  4. The Scarecrow
  5. Bike
View full details