Skip to product information
1 of 3

Pink Floyd – A Momentary Lapse of Reason (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

Pink Floyd – A Momentary Lapse of Reason (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £27.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A Momentary Lapse of Reason is the thirteenth studio album by Pink Floyd, released in the UK on 7 September 1987 and the following day in the US. It was recorded primarily on guitarist David Gilmour’s converted houseboat, Astoria.

A Momentary Lapse of Reason was the first Pink Floyd album recorded without founding member Roger Waters, who departed in 1985. The production was marred by legal fights over the rights to the Pink Floyd name, which were not resolved until several months after release. It also saw the return of keyboardist and founding member Richard Wright, who had resigned from the band under pressure from Waters during the recording of The Wall.

Unlike most earlier Pink Floyd records, A Momentary Lapse of Reason is not a concept album. It includes writing contributions from outside songwriters, following Gilmour’s decision to include material once intended for his third solo album. The album was promoted with a successful world tour and with three singles: the double A-side Learning to Fly / Terminal Frost, On the Turning Away, and One Slip.

A Momentary Lapse of Reason received mixed reviews; some critics praised the production and instrumentation but criticised Gilmour’s writing. It reached No. 3 in the UK and US, and outsold Pink Floyd’s previous album The Final Cut.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Signs of Life
  2. Learning to Fly
  3. The Dogs of War
  4. Slip
  5. On the Turning Away

Side Two

  1. Yet Another Movie
  2. Round and Around
  3. A New Machine (Part 1)
  4. Terminal Frost
  5. A New Machine (Part 2)
  6. Sorrow
View full details