Skip to product information
1 of 3

Motörhead – Bomber (2015 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Motörhead – Bomber (2015 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Released on 27 October 1979, Bomber is the third studio album by Motörhead.

By 1979, Motörhead had been together for four years and had amassed a loyal following in both punk and heavy metal circles. After recording an album for United Artists that the label shelved, the band released its eponymous debut LP in 1977, but it was with 1979’s Overkill that the band hit their stride. The title track landed in the UK Top 40 and, after appearing again on Top of the Pops, the band returned to the studio that summer with legendary producer Jimmy Miller to record what would become Bomber.

However, the band did not have the opportunity to work up the songs on the road, as they had with their previous album. Joel McIver quotes singer and bassist Lemmy in his book Overkill: The Untold Story of Motörhead: ‘I wish we’d played the songs onstage first, like we did with the Overkill album, if we could’ve played them for three weeks on the road it would have been less slick… Listen to the way we play them live and compare that to the album.’ Nonetheless, Bomber would peak at No. 12 on the UK albums chart, their strongest showing up to that point.

See below for full product description.

Motörhead – Bomber (2015 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Bomber is well regarded by fans, and is packed full of essential Motörhead tracks. Jason Birchmeier of AllMusic writes, ‘There are a couple killers here, namely Dead Men Tell No Tales, Stone Dead Forever, and Bomber, but overall, the songs of Bomber aren’t as strong as those of Overkill were. Granted, this is somewhat of a moot point to raise, as Bomber is still a top-shelf Motörhead album, one of their all-time best, without question.’

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Dead Men Tell No Tales
  2. Lawman
  3. Sweet Revenge
  4. Sharpshooter
  5. Poison

Side Two

  1. Stone Dead Forever
  2. All The Aces
  3. Step Down
  4. Talking Head
  5. Bomber
View full details