Skip to product information
1 of 4

Lou Reed – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Lou Reed – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Regular price £19.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £19.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This product is included in our Deluxe 5-CD Box Set Offer – GET ANY TWO FOR 24.99! Check out the offer HERE

This incredible value CD box set comprises five original albums from the mid-period of Lou Reed's career housed in individual cardboard slipcases. This set includes the following five albums: New York, Songs for Drella, Magic and Loss, Set the Twilight Reeling and Ecstasy.

Few rock artists have been more influential without achieving superstardom than Lou Reed. While he flirted with mainstream success between 1970 (when he left Velvet Underground) and 2013 (when he succumbed to liver disease), he most often played to a large cult following that only occasionally expanded into mainstream visibility. However, his songwriting – unusually literate and often embracing themes that flouted society's conventions, especially in terms of drugs and sex – broke fresh ground that other artists would follow, and his willingness to confront his audience made him a vitally important precursor to the punk revolution of the mid- to late '70s. (He often said that his goal was to apply the freedom and creative sensibility of literature to rock music.) As a guitarist, the energetic report of his rhythm playing and the noisy grace of his leads and solos made him a hero to musicians who valued passion and feel over chops.


Track Listing

Disc One (New York)

  1. Romeo Had Juliette
  2. Halloween Parade
  3. Dirty Blvd.
  4. Endless Cycle
  5. There Is No Time
  6. Last Great American Whale
  7. Beginning of a Great Adventure
  8. Busload of Faith
  9. Sick of You
  10. Hold On
  11. Good Evening Mr. Waldheim
  12. Xmas in February
  13. Strawman
  14. Dime Store Mystery

Disc Two (Songs for Drella)

  1. Smalltown
  2. Open House
  3. Style It Takes
  4. Work
  5. Trouble With Classicists
  6. Starlight
  7. Faces and Names
  8. Images
  9. Slip Away (A Warning)
  10. It Wasn't Me
  11. I Believe
  12. Nobody But You
  13. A Dream
  14. Forever Changed
  15. Hello It's Me

Disc Three (Magic and Loss)

  1. Dorita (The Spirit)
  2. What's Good (The Thesis)
  3. Power and Glory (The Situation)
  4. Magician: Internally
  5. Sword of Damocles (Externally)
  6. Goodby Mass (In a Chapel Bodily Termination)
  7. Cremation (Ashes to Ashes)
  8. Dreamin' (Escape)
  9. No Chance (Regret)
  10. Warrior King (Revenge)
  11. Harry's Circumcision (Reverie Gone Astray)
  12. Gassed and Stoked (Loss)
  13. Power and Glory Part II (Magic: Transformation)
  14. Magic and Loss (The Summation)

Disc Four (Set the Twilight Reeling)

  1. Egg Cream
  2. NYC Man
  3. Finish Line
  4. Trade In
  5. Hang on to Your Emotions
  6. Sex With Your Parents (Motherfucker) [part II]
  7. Hookywooky
  8. The Proposition
  9. Adventurer
  10. Riptide
  11. Set the Twilight Reeling

Disc Five (Ecstacy)

  1. Paranoia Key of E
  2. Mystic Child
  3. Mad
  4. Ecstacy
  5. Modern Dance
  6. Tatters
  7. Future Farmers of America
  8. Turning Time Around
  9. White Prism
  10. Rock Minuet
  11. Baton Rouge
  12. Like a Possum
  13. Rouge
  14. Big Sky
View full details