Skip to product information
1 of 3

King Crimson – Larks’ Tongues in Aspic (2013 Reissue on 200g Vinyl)

King Crimson – Larks’ Tongues in Aspic (2013 Reissue on 200g Vinyl)

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This album features the original stereo mix of Larks’ Tongues in Aspic and is newly cut from masters approved by Robert Fripp. Digital downloads codes for all the audio content are also included.

Released on 23 March 1973, Larks’ Tongues in Aspic is the fifth studio album by King Crimson. This album is the debut of King Crimson’s third incarnation, featuring co-founder and guitarist Robert Fripp along with four new members: bass guitarist and vocalist John Wetton, violinist and keyboardist David Cross, percussionist Jamie Muir, and drummer Bill Bruford. It is a key album in the band’s evolution, drawing on Eastern European classical music and European free improvisation as central influences.

In his contemporary review, Alan Niester of Rolling Stone summarised the album saying ‘You can’t dance to it, can’t keep a beat to it, and it doesn’t even make good background music for washing the dishes’ and recommended listeners to ‘approach it with a completely open mind.’ He described the songs on the album saying that they were ‘a total study in contrasts, especially in moods and tempos – blazing and electric one moment, soft and intricate the next.’ While not fully appreciative of the music on the record, he complimented the violin playing as ‘tasteful […] in the best classical tradition.’

Bill Martin wrote in 1998, ‘for sheer formal inventiveness, the most important progressive rock record of 1973 was… Larks’ Tongues in Aspic’, adding that listening to this album and Yes’s Close to the Edge will demonstrate ‘what progressive rock is all about’.

AllMusic’s retrospective review was resoundingly positive, marking every aspect of the band’s transition from a jazz-influenced vein to a more experimental one as a complete success. It deemed John Wetton ‘the group’s strongest singer/bassist since Greg Lake’s departure’.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Larks’ Tongues in Aspic, Part One
  2. Book of Saturday
  3. Exiles

Side Two

  1. Easy Money
  2. The Talking Drum
  3. Larks’ Tongues in Aspic, Part Two


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Panegyric

Catalogue No: KCLP5

Barcode: 633367910516

Release Date: 28 Oct 2013

View full details