Skip to product information
1 of 2

Jethro Tull – Crest Of A Knave: CD

Jethro Tull – Crest Of A Knave: CD

Regular price £7.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £7.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Jethro Tull – Crest Of A Knave

 It’s unlikely that Jethro Tull leader Ian Anderson ever thought his band would be spoken of alongside Metallica, but that’s exactly what happened after the release of Tull's 16th album, Crest of a Knave, which was released on Sept. 11, 1987.

The British prog giants had reconvened after a hiatus forced on them by Anderson's  throat surgery, and they aimed to change tack following the disappointing response to 1984’s Under Wraps, which had seen them pursue electronic sounds. With Crest of a Knave, they wanted to turn back toward their trademark mix of acoustic and electric styles – though Anderson did use drum programming instead of drummer Doane Perry on two tracks, Steel Monkey and Raising Steam.

Crest of a Knave is the sixteenth studio album by British rock band Jethro Tull, released in 1987. The album was recorded after a three-year hiatus caused by a throat infection of vocalist Ian Anderson, resulting in his changed singing style.

Track Listings

Disc 1

  1. Steel Monkey
  2. Farm On the Freeway
  3. Jump Start
  4. She Said She Was a Dancer
  5. Dogs in the Midwinter
  6. Budapest
  7. Mountain Men
  8. The Waking Edge
  9. Raising Steam
  10. Part of the Machine


View full details