Skip to product information
1 of 2

Genesis – Seconds Out (Double-CD)

Genesis – Seconds Out (Double-CD)

Regular price £19.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £19.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Genesis – Seconds Out

The 1975 departure of vocalist Peter Gabriel following the epic Lamb Lies Down On Broadway tour – left this band with a creative vacuum that they struggled gamely to fill. In promoting Drummer Phil Collins to the role of frontman, they signalled a decisive shift away from the prog-rock theatrics of their previous work, and toward a more conventional (and commercial) adult-rock sound. This double live album – recorded in 1977 – finds them attempting to reconcile both their early and middle periods, and certainly, on such Gabriel-era tunes as I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) and the magisterial Supper's Ready, Collins shows himself to be a perfectly proficient replacement. Yet for all his vocal chops, there's something vital missing: a necessary sense of the perverse. Instead, both band and singer run through these nightmares of unreason like the durable rock classics they are – and as a result, Genesis forfeit much of what had originally made them unique.

Track Listing

 Disc 1

  1. Squonk
  2. The Carpet Crawlers
  3. Robbery, Assault and Battery
  4. Afterglow
  5. Firth of Fifth
  6. I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
  7. The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway
  8. The Musical Box (Closing Section)

 Disc 2

  1. Supper's Ready
  2. The Cinema Show
  3. Dance On a Volcano
  4. Los Endos


View full details