Skip to product information
1 of 3

Deep Purple – Deep Purple (2016 Reissue Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Deep Purple – Deep Purple (2016 Reissue Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Deep Purple, also referred to as Deep Purple III, is the third studio album by Deep Purple, released in June 1969 in the United States and in September 1969 in the United Kingdom. Its release was preceded by the single Emmaretta and by a long tour in the UK, whose dates were interspersed between the album’s recording sessions.

The music of this album is mostly original and a combination of progressive rock, hard rock and psychedelic rock, but with a harder edge and with the guitar parts in more evidence than in the past. This was due both to the growth of guitarist Ritchie Blackmore as a songwriter and to the conflicts within the band over the fusion of classical music and rock proposed by keyboard player Jon Lord and amply implemented in the band’s previous releases.

This was the least commercially successful of the three albums released by the band’s Mark I line-up, and was ignored by critics upon its release. Modern reviews are generally positive, and remark on the variety of styles within the album and the boldness of the song arrangements.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Chasing Shadows
  2. Blind
  3. Lalena
  4. Fault Line (Instrumental)
  5. The Painter

Side Two

  1. Why Didn’t Rosemary?
  2. Bird Has Flown
  3. April
    View full details