Skip to product information
1 of 3

Chic – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Chic – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Regular price £15.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £15.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This product is included in our Deluxe 5-CD Box Set Offer – GET ANY TWO FOR 24.99! Check out the offer HERE

This incredible value CD box set comprises five original albums housed in individual cardboard sleeves. This set includes the following five albums: Chic, C’est Chic, Risqué, Real People and Take It Off.

There is no doubt that Chic was disco's greatest band. Working in a heavily producer-dominated field, they were most definitely a band. By the time Chic appeared in the late '70s, disco was already heading toward mainstream saturation and an inevitable downfall. Chic bucked the trend by stripping disco's sound down to its basic elements. Specializing in stylish grooves with a uniquely organic sense of interplay, Chic's sound was anchored by the scratchy chucking-style rhythm guitar of Nile Rogers, the indelible, widely imitated, and sometimes outright stolen basslines of Bernard Edwards, and the powerhouse drumming of Tony Thompson. As producers, Rogers and Edwards used keyboard and string embellishments economically, which kept the emphasis on rhythm. Chic's distinctive approach not only resulted in some of the era's finest singles, including the number one hits Le Freak and Good Times – only two of several classics off the platinum albums C'est Chic (1978) and Risqué (1979) – but also helped create a template for funk, dance-pop, and hip-hop in the post-disco era.


Track Listing

Disc 1 – Chic

  1. Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)
  2. Sao Paulo
  3. You Can Get By
  4. Everybody Dance
  5. Est-ce Que C'est Chic
  6. Falling in Love With You
  7. Strike Up the Band

Disc 2 – C'est Chic

  1. Chic Cheer
  2. Le Freak
  3. Savoir Faire
  4. Happy Man
  5. I Want Your Love
  6. At Last I Am Free
  7. Sometimes You Win
  8. (Funny) Bone

Disc 3 – Risqué

  1. Good Times
  2. A Warm Summer Night
  3. My Feet Keep Dancing
  4. My Forbidden Lover
  5. Can't Stand to Love You
  6. Will You Cry (When You Hear This Song)
  7. What About Me

Disc 4 – Real People

  1. Open Up
  2. Real People
  3. I Loved You More
  4. I Got Protection
  5. Rebels Are We
  6. Chip Off the Old Block
  7. 26
  8. You Can't Do It Alone

Disc 5 – Take It Off

  1. Stage Fright
  2. Burn Hard
  3. So Fine
  4. Flash Back
  5. Telling Lies
  6. Your Love Is Cancelled
  7. Would You Be My Baby
  8. Take It Off
  9. Just Out of Reach
  10. Baby Doll


Label: Rhino Records, Atlantic
Series: Original Album Series
Format: CD, Album, Reissue CD x 5, Reissue Box Set, Compilation
Country: Europe
Released: 2011

View full details